© 2019 by MassIFF    

MassIFF is a 501(c) non-profit organization

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

MassIFF Announces its 2015 Award Nominees

August 18, 2015


Now in its fifth run The Massachusetts Independent Film Festival will again honor distinguished filmmakers screening this year. The filmmakers and their films are given recognition based on their creative spirit particularly in the craft of storytelling and willingness to engage in thought-provoking ideas and issues.


Nominees are grouped in the following categories: Best Feature, Best Short, Best Documentary, Best Actor Feature, Best Actor Short, Best Actress Feature, Best Actress Short, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Director Feature, Best Director Short, Best Writing, and Best New England Film. The winners will be chosen by our panel of judges who are respected Boston-area film critics.


MassIFF would like to thank our sponsors: Otto Pizza, Resolution Rentals, Tasty Burger, and 1550 WNTN. We would also like to thank all the filmmakers who submitted their work. MassIFF had a record number of submissions this year which made the acceptance process especially difficult.


Please join us at Tasty Burger in Harvard Square at 8:00pm on the 29th for our after party where winners will be announced.


Purchase your tickets here!



MassIFF Nominees:



Best Feature:




Leaves of the Tree



Best Short:


Rabbits (Coeur d'Alene)





Best Documentary:



Becoming Bulletproof

A Day's Work



Best Actor Feature:


Johnny Hopkins - Sidewalk Traffic

Lee Ross - Containment

Eric Roberts - Leaves of the Tree



Best Actor Short:


Bill Sage - The Taking of Ezra Bodine

Stephen Tyrone Williams - Tobacco Burn

Rick Kincaid - Lullaby



Best Actress Feature:


Ella Purnell - Wildlike

Taylor Spreitler - Girl on the Edge

Heather Matarazzo - Sidewalk Traffic



Best Actress Short:


Alysson Paradis - A Day of Lucidity

Laura Capkanis - Summer Breeze

Rachel Lu - Paper Wrap Fire





Miguel Del Olaso - The Light Thief

John Schmidt - Leaves of the Tree

David Kruta - Lullaby

Omar Nasr - Maternal





Amy Leland - The Taking of Ezra Bodine

Romain Namura - A Day of Lucidity

Ray Chung - Lullaby

Susan Chasen - Goodbye Mr. Smith



Director Feature:


Frank Hall Green - Wildlike

Ante Novakovic - Leaves of the Tree

Anatol Durbala  - What a Wonderful World



Director Short:


Jeongtae Kim and Jeongmi Mun - The Poor Fighter

Merlin Camozzi - Rabbits (Coeur d'Alene)

Stuart Valberg - Lullaby

Andreas Hadjipateras - Maternal





Anthony L. Fisher - Sidewalk Traffic

Anatol Durbala  - What a Wonderful World

David Lemon - Containment

Brendan Boogie - The Mayor of Rock and Roll



New England Film:


A Small Herd

The Mayor of Rock and Roll

Who Did It? The Clue VCR Game

Goodbye Mr. Smith

Wander, Wonder, Wilderness



This Year’s Judges:



Tom Meek (The Huffington Post)



Peter Keough (The Boston Globe)



Brett Michel (The Boston Herald)




Please reload

Featured Posts

James Franco's 'Totally Wrong' Proves Opposites Do Attract: An Interview

August 21, 2015

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload